A Cataloging of Brian's Story in Mozambique
 
Picture
And just like that, 5 months go by! Yikes, where did the time go? I have been so intensely here that it has been hard to think about anything outside of this place. Life here, and especially work, has been my whole world these days. Tunnel vision. My non-Mozambique memories seem like other lifetimes. Really. It’s unsettling. I feel like I arrived at 22 years old last September like a typical Peace Corps Volunteer, and turned 30 last month.

Having written that, I see that returning to this blog will be very good for me. Time to take a big breath, step back, and reflect a little bit on the last half-year. I thought it’d be nice to start with this picture of me with these giraffes! That was a few months ago. A family of wild giraffes inhabiting a reserve about 40 km outside of Chimoio. So beautiful and so majestic. I was with a group of other PC Volunteers, and we all actually involuntarily cried out when we saw them, if you can believe such a thing. It always fills me with awe to see a big animal like this in its natural environment.

So what have I been up to for the last half-year? I have been busy. Like, stupidly busy. The main culprit is the university where I work, UCM--Universidade Católica de Moçambique. Chimoio is home to UCM’s engineering branch campus, so the focus here is on the more technical disciplines—civil engineering and food chemistry may be the two cornerstone programs if you had to pick. That said, our Chimoio branch also offers degrees in things like business, law, and clinical psychology, so don’t ask me what that’s about.
As an education PC Volunteer, my main deal here in Mozambique (my “primary project”) is teaching. But already that’s where my experience departs from the norm. My enormous challenge/responsibility/opportunity is that this semester (which began in February of this year) is the first semester of the first year of our electrical engineering department’s existence. And the department is me. We have about 55 students so far, each paying a lot of money to attend this university, and they have chosen our brand-new electrical engineering major. I was a little shocked when I arrived in December of last year to learn that nobody had been hired to bring up the program that would be opening in 2 months, that the university was gambling pretty hard on their new foreign volunteer and his broken Portuguese. I probably would’ve been a lot more shocked to learn that the same is true over 6 months later, today.

But tudo bem, savvy readers will remember that this new electrical engineering department and the opportunity to be a professor of engineering is exactly what drew me here in the first place! It’s been a difficult semester, but still I wouldn’t rather be anywhere else. I wanted the chance to make an impact and to work at something that matters, and here it is. I’ve had my butt kicked by jobs that I believe in and jobs that I don’t, and I can tell you which I prefer. What’s incredible about my post is that there seems to be an endless of amount of really great work to be done, and the only limit is the amount of time and energy I can put in. Such boundless opportunity, for me, has been a ruthless taskmaster. It is a pit into which I throw so much time, effort, and caring-about-things but can never seem to fill. And if that seems like a really negative way to describe my first 6 months here, well, it’s been a tough semester.

How do you create a university undergraduate program? I sort of panicked for a few weeks at the beginning, but eventually developed a strategy. I’ve been fumbling through it. There was a lot of trying to remember what my old college courses and labs were like. Any program needs a curriculum and professors, and hugely important for electrical engineering are labs and a ton of technical equipment. And these are the things that I’ve been worrying about since I arrived. An immense stroke of fortune is that UCM has money to put towards the program, and we’ve been making good use of that so far. Here’s a short summary for the main things:

Curriculum – It’s no small task to marry a strong electrical engineering program with relevance to the actual jobs in Mozambique and to the knowledge base of available professors. I’m still taking it one semester at a time!

Staff – When I first arrived, the university president asked me to head the department in the official role. But I felt and still feel that it would be better aligned with Peace Corps goals (and my goals) to have a Mozambican do this, with me assisting that person. The president was very understanding and we agreed that we would hire a department head. We eventually interviewed candidates for this job and tried hiring someone, but it didn’t work out; he wasn’t able to commit to full-time work and had to leave after a week. I’m still the only person on staff and have been doing more of the department head stuff than I’d like, but I’m extremely grateful that the physics professor and civil engineering department head have been helping out a lot. The hiring of a motivated and capable EE department head remains probably the single most important thing for my service here to have been a success.

Lab – I’m very excited about this! I’m posting the official “before” picture below. Early on I drew up a layout for the lab and I’ve been working with the local carpenter on the furniture (lab benches and such). We’re about 1/3 of the way there. UCM has an electrician on staff, who’s been great, and I’ve been working with him a lot too.

Equipment – This, more than anything, has been an insane undertaking. So many hours of research. I’ve ordered dozens and dozens of unique pieces of equipment/tools/material, in large quantities, from U.S. businesses and local where possible. It’s a start, and there is much, much more to go! See picture below.

Then there’s teaching. I began the semester slotted to cover the main EE course for semester 1, Introdução a Engenharia Eletrotécnica, plus teaching Inglês I for the engineering students. Several weeks in though, I discovered that two additional classes were in need of professors, and I began teaching those too--Inglês I for night students and something called Oficinas Gerais. It’s a long story, and I don’t have the heart to tell it. It was too much. None of these classes have curricula or textbooks, except for whatever the professor can get her hands on. This semester I made 18 MB of PowerPoint slides in Portuguese for Introdução a Engenharia Eletrotécnica, our class notes. I don’t have another semester like this one in me. It was way too much, and by the end I felt more defeated than accomplished. There is a lot going well at UCM, really a lot, but there are planning and scheduling challenges unlike anything I have ever seen.

I first tried this blog entry a week ago and just couldn’t do it. It’s been a hard semester, and not in a way that has felt very poignant or poetic or has made me feel like writing much. If what I wrote above sounds tempered and measured and like it’s coming from a place of proper perspective (I’m not even sure it sounds that way), that doesn’t reflect the way I was feeling last week or for most of the past few months either. My first draft came out pretty negative and I’ve since rewritten most of it. I don’t want to just rant or to elicit gasps at things that seem dysfunctional here through American eyes, of which there are plenty. There’s also so much that is normal and mundanely functional, and I will try to not overlook those too badly.

I’m missing everyone back home and overseas a lot. Big hugs from over here.

Here are those pictures of UCM:
Janet
7/15/2014 01:30:59 am

It's so good to finally hear what's going on with you! I can't believe the situation there is so...uh, solo. How is your Portuguese coming? Ah, we miss you here!

Reply
Brian
7/29/2014 02:28:19 am

Aw, thanks Janet! I miss you guys too! Still in Cuenca? I wonder if I would recognize any CEDEI teachers at this point!

O meu português está a andar bem, obrigado. It's probably not in the same league as your Spanish last time I heard it a year ago, but still pretty good :) My Spanish speaking is a total wreck though! Contaminated by all this Portuguese.

Reply
Brian
7/29/2014 02:58:30 am

By the way, I have begun to dent the Janet M. book recommendation list!

Reply
Valerie
7/15/2014 01:43:29 am

Brian, I'm so happy that you've posted on your blog! It's great to hear about your experience these past few months.

I identify with what you wrote: "I don’t want to just rant or to elicit gasps at things that seem dysfunctional here through American eyes, of which there are plenty." However, when blogging abroad, I came to realize that the writing was more for me than anyone else, and I began to write about what interested me, what I observed, what I was frustrated about (though I did try to not whine too much), not how I thought it would be conveyed. Even the bad stuff. It's okay, we won't worry too much about you and worry how dysfunctional everything is, except maybe your wonderful mother will. :)

It sounds like your work load is immense, and you're covering more ground than almost anyone in a similar position could do in the U.S, with such large constraints that do not exist here. That is all great, but I hope you've found a place or an activity where you can find happiness and tranquility that isn't related to the success of the program, so you can keep doing this great work with such vigor. And maybe you can develop a "service learning" program for your students to get them to do the easier tasks on your plate... :)

From Kahilil Gibran's, The Prophet, on teaching: "The teacher who walks in the shadow of the temple, among his followers, gives not of his wisdom but rather of his faith and his lovingness. If he is indeed wise he does not bid you enter the house of his wisdom, but rather leads you to the threshold of your own mind." Find success in the small victories of your students, the victory of change in yourself, and know that for every success you notice, there may be countless triumphs that may not materialize for you to see.

I'm sure you know all of this, so the summary is: I am rooting for you, and we all care so much about you and your work out there, my cousin! Much love from Chicago!

Reply
Brian
7/29/2014 02:42:33 am

Valerie, you are so totally awesome. It made me feel really good that you took such time to write such a thoughtful, caring response. Like a big hug from far away.

Thinking of my students entering a temple of wisdom and understanding in their minds is such a silly thought I can't help but grin :) And yet, there's truth to it.

I'll do my best to keep these and all your other wise words in mind. And don't worry; when I stop to think about it, there's so much to feel good about that's unrelated to work. Thanks for all the love and support. :)

Reply
Bao
7/15/2014 03:15:27 pm

Brian, stumbled on your blog back when you were leaving for Africa, and just revisited today. It's amazing to see how much you have experienced and accomplished in the short time span. It's funny to compare it to what I've during the same period...plan a wedding (with lots of help). It's not even done yet.
Your blog was definitely a nice break from centerpieces and giant balloons. While you're out sharing your knowledge to the world, don't let your Smash Bros skills get rusty!

Reply
Brian
7/29/2014 02:45:04 am

Bao! Or as the Portuguese would call you, Bão! It's been too long, man. Thanks for reading! I'm sorry to say my Smash Brothers skills are even rustier than my Magic: The Gathering skills! (read: I played MTG not too long ago)

Congratulations on getting married!

Reply
Josh
7/21/2014 10:20:18 am

Brian - thanks for putting the energy into catching us up. Your task sounds immense, and the effort you've committed to it equally so. It's probably hard to gage right now how much this experience is teaching you, but I promise it's huge. Also, don't forget to take care of yourself while giving so much; something I overlooked my first year teaching in Chicago. Either way, us teachers often never get to understand the full impact of our work while it's happening, but we just have to trust that it's profound and worthwhile. Keep it up, friend.

Reply
Brian
7/29/2014 02:57:39 am

Josh, I love your comments, friend. You gotta teach me how to get Weebly to put a little ribbon or something by your name when you write.

Thanks for the much-needed hit of perspective. Sometimes I think about what that first year teaching at CPS must be like, and know that this is probably the closest experience I've had to that. By the way, your current gig leading kids though the wilderness sounds awesome :)

Teaching aside, I already see how different I am now compared to just a year ago. Let alone when I look back 3 years! I'm sure you can identify with that. Wouldn't change it for anything.

I'll leave you with one last thought...

Para tu amor, yo tengo todo

Reply
12/21/2023 01:09:50 am

Website source:

https://turkeymedicals.com
https://turkeyhealth.net
https://healthtourismcongress.org
https://turkiyesaglikturizmirehberi.com
https://healthmedicaltourism.org

Manual Therapy Methods:

What is Physical Therapy? In Which Diseases Is It Applied?

Manual therapy is a form of physical therapy that is applied only manually, without using any device or machine. In manual therapy, practitioners use only their hands to reduce problems caused by muscle spasms, muscle tension and dysfunctions in the joints.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author
    Brian Mitterer

    Disclaimer: The contents of this page, and all links appearing on this page, do not represent the positions, views or intents of the U.S. Government, or the United States Peace Corps.

    Archives

    September 2013

    Categories

    All